Each subcommittee for the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee is tasked to consider specific issues that fall under the jurisdiction of the full committee. Subcommittees often consider and report legislation as well as hold hearings to provide oversight of programs, agencies, or laws. Each subcommittee has a chairman and a ranking member. The EPW subcommittees are as follows:

  • Clean Air Act, Indoor Air, Tennessee Valley Authority, Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Nuclear Plant Safety.
  • Clean Water Act, including wetlands; Safe Drinking Water Act; Coastal Zone Management Act; Invasive Species; Fisheries and Wildlife, Endangered Species Act (ESA), National Wildlife Refuges; Outer Continental Shelf Lands.
  • Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA), Superfund and Brownfields, Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA), including recycling, Federal Facilities and interstate waste, Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act (EPCRA), Chemical Safety Board, Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs), Environmental Justice, Risk Assessment, and responsibility for oversight of agencies, departments, and programs within the jurisdiction of the full committee, including oversight of environmental research and development, and for conducting investigations within such jurisdiction.
  • Transportation, Federal Highway Administration, Public Buildings, Water Resources Development Act (WRDA), Economic Development Administration, Historic Preservation, National Dam Safety Program, Stafford Act and federal disaster relief programs, Mississippi River Commission, and green buildings standards.